Top 9 Modernist Architecture in Armenia - Move2Armenia

Top 9 Modernist Architecture Sites in Armenia

0
Top 9 Modernist Architecture Sites in Armenia
22.11.2022
0
Favorites

Did you know that most of the buildings constructed in Armenia since the 60s of the XX century were built during the era of modernist architecture? Many of those buildings were built based on experimental and innovative projects of their time. And despite the fact that over the years some modernist heritage sites go to reck and ruin and need reconstruction, they remain the hallmark of Armenia and turn out to be important sites for tourists.

In our guide you will find nine modernist buildings both in Yerevan and in other cities of Armenia. Bookmark it so that sooner or later you can see it with your own eyes. — We have provided each object not only with an address, but also with a short note about what makes it remarkable.

The Iron Fountain

Gyumri, Savoyan street

The shape of the fountain resembles an impressive chandelier, consisting of many butterfly wings or flower petals. It was built in 1982 by architect Artur Tarkhanyan not far from the Polytechnic Institute and immediately turned the dormitory suburb into a point of attraction for people. The fountain operated up until 1988: both the district and the communications system were destroyed by an earthquake. Remarkably, the fountain itself was not damaged at all.

© Robert Conte

Former International Telephone Station

Yerevan, Azatutyan Avenue, 24/1

The facade of the ten-story building is decorated with delicate facing, which has not only a decorative, but also a sun-protective function. The station was built in 1971 by architects Armen Agalyan and Grigory Grigoryan. Previously, there was an international telephone station there. Offices of a telecommunications company are located in the building now.

© Robert Conte

A Monument to the 50th Anniversary of Soviet Armenia

Dilijan, Tbilisi Highway

A geometric dominant directed towards the sky is the snow-white symbol of Dilijan. The monument was built in 1970 by the project of architects Artur Tarkhanyan, Khoren Vatinyan and Seyran Avetisyan, who immortalized five decades of Armenia's life as a part of the USSR in five triangular slabs.

© Robert Conte

Building №9 of Yerevan University of Architecture and Construction

Yerevan, Teryan Street, 105/9

The massive building of the Polytechnic University is dotted with delicate window ornaments. The facade of the first floors with a bas-relief densely populated with human figures is also noteworthy. The building was built in the nineteen eighties by the project of the architect Armen Aghalyan. The students of the faculties of radio engineering and transport study in the building nowadays.

© Robert Conte

Chess House

Yerevan, Khanjyan Street, 50A

The unique triangular building with seven metal chess pieces on the facade was built in 1970 by Zhanna Meshcheryakova's design. At that time, chess became especially popular in Armenia thanks to two-time world champion Tigran Petrosyan. Competitions in the most intellectual sport are still held here.

© Robert Conte

Dining room of the resort house of the Union of Writers

Sevan, st. Dzknorsneri, 7

A futuristic building constructed in 1969, surprisingly harmoniously blends into the brutal terrain of the Sevan peninsula. The author of the dining room is Gevorg Kochar, a constructivist and graduate of Higher Art and Technical Institute. In summer you can have a coffee in this dining room with a peaceful view of the lake, and imagine how Soviet writers observed the same serene.

© Robert Conte

"Russia" Cinema

Yerevan, Tigran Mets Avenue, 16

One of the most innovative and unusual modernist designs of the seventies. The cinema is shaped like a ship or an ark. The authors of the project, built in 1974, are architects Hrachya Poghosyan, Artur Tarkhanyan and Spartak Khachikyan. These days raves are often held in the former cinema hall, the ground floor has become a trading platform.

© Robert Conte

Zvartnots Airport

Yerevan

The silhouette of the airport which has been masterly inscribed in the landscape of the Ararat valley together with its dominant - the control tower, which the pilots affectionately nicknamed the "swallow's nest", has become the embodiment of Armenian modernism. After the launch of the new terminal in 2011, the old premises were closed and their existence was endangered . Over the past ten years, the question of demolition has been repeatedly raised. Although the old terminal was eventually recognized as an object of cultural heritage, the building is gradually being destroyed and needs urgent need repairs.

© Robert Conte

Central Bus Station

Hrazdan, Zoravar Andranik Avenue, 14

The bus station in Hrazdan, abandoned today, is one of the iconic images of Armenian modernism. The two-part complex, built in 1978 by Heinrich Arakelyan's design, housed a ticket office and a waiting room, connected to a glass pavilion-flower, where a bar and a shop were located.

© Robert Conte

We would like to thank photographer Roberto Conte for the incredible shots of the buildings..

And you can see all these places from guides from our catalog or independently, by car from Move2Car.

Favorites
It was interesting? Subscribe to newsletter:
What are you interested in?
Thanks for subscribing!
culture
Tourism
Business
Life
Children
Animals
Housing
Beauty and care
Medicine
Education
Society
Moving / Flight
Purchases
Law and law
Work
Entertainment
Restaurants, bars, cafes
Sport
Transport
Finance and banks
Please select at least 1 item
Article author
Article author
  • articles: 28
  • просмотров : 371771
Top 9 Modernist Architecture Sites in Armenia
  • No comments yet.
  • Add a comment
    It is interesting

Топ-9 модернистской архитектуры Армении

0

Топ-9 модернистской архитектуры Армении

Мария Гончарова
22.11.2022
0

Вы знали, что большая часть зданий, построенных в Армении начиная с 60-х годов XX века приходится на эпоху архитектуры модернизма? Многие из тех зданий строились по экспериментальным и новаторским для своего времени проектам. И несмотря на то, что спустя годы некоторые объекты модернистского наследия приходят в упадок и нуждаются в реконструкции, они остаются визитной карточкой Армении и оказываются важными точками притяжения туристов.

В нашем путеводителе вы найдете девять модернистских построек не только в Ереване, но и в других городах Армении. Сохраняйте в закладки, чтобы рано или поздно увидеть их своими глазами — мы снабдили каждый объект не только адресом, но и короткой справкой о том, чем он примечателен.

Железный фонтан

Гюмри, улица Савояна

По форме фонтан напоминает внушительных размеров люстру, состоящую из множества крыльев бабочек или цветочных лепестков. Был построен в 1982 году по проекту архитектора Артура Тарханяна недалеко от Политехнического института и сразу же превратил спальный район в точку притяжения. Фонтан проработал лишь до 1988 года: тогда землетрясением был уничтожен и район, и система коммуникаций, а вот сама конструкция фонтана совершенно не пострадала.

© Roberto Conte

Бывшая международная телефонная станция

Ереван, проспект Азатутян, 24/1

Фасад десятиэтажного здания украшен ажурной облицовкой, функция которой не только декоративная, но и солнцезащитная. Станция была построена в 1971 году по проекту архитекторов Армена Агаляна и Григория Григоряна. Раньше здесь находилась международная телефонная станция, а сейчас располагаются офисы телекоммуникационной компании.

© Roberto Conte

Монумент 50-летия Советской Армении

Дилижан, Тбилисское шоссе

Белоснежный символ Дилижана — геометричная доминанта, устремленная в небо. Монумент построили в 1970 году по проекту архитекторов Артура Тарханяна, Хорена Ватиняна и Сейрана Аветисяна, которые в пяти треугольных плитах увековечили пять десятилетий жизни Армении в составе СССР.

© Roberto Conte

Корпус №9 Ереванского университета архитектуры и строительства

Ереван, Улица Терьяна, 105/9

Массивный корпус Политеха испещрен ажурным орнаментом окон. Примечателен и фасад первых этажей с барельефом, густонаселенным человеческими фигурами. Здание построено в восьмидесятые по проекту архитектора Армена Агаляна. Сейчас в корпусе учатся студенты факультетов радиотехники и транспорта.

© Roberto Conte

Дом шахмат

Ереван, Улица Ханджяна, 50А

Уникальное треугольное здание с семью металлическими шахматными фигурами на фасаде было построено в 1970 году по проекту Жанны Мещеряковой. Тогда в Армении шахматный спорт стал особенно популярным благодаря завоеванному Тиграном Петросяном титулу двухкратного чемпиона мира. Здесь до сих пор проводятся соревнования по самому интеллектуальному виду спорта.

https://live.staticflickr.com/1636/25913693814_ce0c095826_z.jpg

© Roberto Conte

Столовая пансионата Союза писателей

Севан, ул. Дзкнорснери, 7

Футуристическая постройка 1969 года, удивительно гармонично вписавшаяся в брутальный рельеф севанского полуострова. Автор проекта столовой — Геворг Кочар, конструктивист и выпускник ВХУТЕИНа. Сейчас в летний сезон в столовой можно выпить кофе с умиротворяющим видом на озеро и представить, как советские писатели наблюдали этот же безмятежный пейзаж.

© Roberto Conte

Кинотеатр «Россия»

Ереван, Проспект Тигран Мец, 16

Одна из самых новаторских и необычных модернистских конструкций семидесятых. Кинотеатр по форме напоминает корабль или ковчег. Авторы проекта, возведенного в 1974 году — архитекторы Грачья Погосян, Артур Тарханян и Спартак Хачикян. Сейчас в бывшем кинозале часто устраивают рейвы, а цокольный этаж стал торговой площадкой.

© Roberto Conte

Аэропорт Звартноц

Ереван

Филигранно вписанный в пейзаж араратской долины силуэт аэропорта с доминантой — диспетчерской башней, которой летчики дали ласковое прозвище «ласточкино гнездо», давно стал олицетворением армянского модернизма. После запуска нового терминала в 2011 году старое помещение закрыли, и его судьба оказалась под угрозой. За последние десять лет неоднократно поднимался вопрос о сносе. И хотя в итоге старый терминал был признан объектом культурного наследия, здание постепенно разрушается и нуждается в неотложном ремонте.

© Roberto Conte

Центральный автовокзал

Раздан, проспект Зоравара Андраника, 14

Заброшенная в наши дни автобусная станция в Раздане — один из иконических образов армянского модернизма. В двухчастном комплексе, построенном в 1978 году по проекту Генриха Аракеляна, располагались касса и зал ожидания, соединенные со стеклянным павильоном-цветком, где находился бар и магазин.

© Roberto Conte

За невероятные снимки зданий в карусели мы выражаем благодарность фотографу Roberto Conte.

Мария Гончарова
Топ-9 модернистской архитектуры Армении
  • Пока нет коментариев.
  • Добавить комментарий
    Это интересно