Where to buy cheap fruits and vegetables in Armenia? - article on Move2Armenia website

Where to buy cheap fruits and vegetables in Armenia?

2
Where to buy cheap fruits and vegetables in Armenia?
24.08.2022
2
Favorites

Armenia is rich in tasty, juicy, and most importantly inexpensive fruits, berries and vegetables. In the summer, the stalls become more colorful and beautiful, and the price tag for guests of the country may seem ridiculous. But it is worth noting that even despite the attractive price in regular supermarkets, you can find even cheaper and juicier fruits and vegetables. The main thing is to know the right places. Today, based on personal experience, we will share with you a list of proven markets.

Contents

  1. GUM market
  2. Kayarani shuka market
  3. Komitas Market
  4. Malatya
  5. Counters at home

GUM market

Address: st. Movses Khorenatsi, 35
Mode works: 8:00-18:00
Tel.: +374 10 578441
No website
Payment Methods: cash / sometimes card

We can safely say that this is one of the most popular markets in Yerevan, where many sellers daily display fruits, vegetables, herbs, dried fruits, meat, fish (freshly caught from aquariums) and much more on their shelves.
We advise you not to stop right at the entrance: sellers will offer to come up to them and taste their nuts, berries, fruits, but this is more likely aimed at tourists; prices may be higher than the market average. It’s better to walk a little further, especially since they sell vegetables and herbs in the back.

Some sellers have a terminal for card payments, some may offer to pay for the purchase by transfer, but we recommend taking cash with you, since not everyone has this electronic option.

The market is very large, old, beautiful, with wonderful sellers who are ready to treat you for free, and maybe even feed you.

A few tips:

  1. It's common to bargain here, don't be shy.
  2. Consider your time, because a walk through the market is not a quick thing. You will have to walk around, find out prices and compare offers from different sellers.
  3. After 16:00 every day, behind the indoor market, another one opens - a street one. Various farmers come there and sell fresh vegetables, fruits, berries, herbs directly from their gardens, including in bulk. It is open until approximately 20-21:00.

What are the prices on the market? *

Cucumbers (1 kg) – 500 AMD.

Tomatoes (1 kg) – 700 AMD

Sweet cherry (1 kg) – 3000 AMD

Peaches (1 kg) – 700 AMD

*prices are indicated at the time of writing the article (08/22/22). They may change depending on the time of year.

Kayarani shuka market

Address: Tigran Mets Ave., 86 (next to the train station)
Working mode: 8:00-20:00. Some traders arrive before 8:00.

Tel.: +374 10 572500
Website: facebook.com (low-active)

Payment Methods: Cash only

Previously, a large market was located at this address, but today only a corner with counters remains. It is located a five-minute walk from the David Sasunsky metro station, to the right of the train station. Despite the small area, the quality of the products here is no worse than in GUM. The product looks good, everything is fresh, homemade. It feels like it came straight from the garden and without any additives. The sellers will not lure you in, but they will always be happy to answer your questions.

A few tips:

  1. The best and cheapest way to get there is by metro. The fare costs 100 drams, you will need to get off at the “David Sasunsky” station ("Sasuntsi David"), then turn right at the passage and exit in front of the station entrance.
  2. There are parking spaces, most of them are free in the first half of the day.
  3. Expect that the choice of fruits and vegetables is small.
  4. The market is right on the street, so wash everything you buy thoroughly at home.

What are the prices on the market? *

Cucumbers (1 kg) – 300 AMD.

Tomatoes (1 kg) – 250 AMD

Sweet cherry (1 kg) – 2000 AMD

Peaches (1 kg) – 500 AMD

*prices are indicated at the time of writing the article (08/22/22). They may change depending on season. 

Komitas Market

Address: Komitas Ave., 53

Working mode: There is no official information anywhere, but on average in the city, markets are open from 8:00 to 18:00 (on Sat and Sun, many of them are also open, but may close closer to 16:00). They say that visiting farmers from villages sell until 8:00, and their prices are lower than those of locals.

No phone number or website.
Payment Methods: Cash only

This is the very market that will plunge you into the atmosphere of the USSR. A large building, old, authentic architecture, pleasant soft light from the windows and cute grandmothers with dried fruits. The scheme is the same as in GUM. Fruits and vegetables are located further, in the fresh air. Here you don’t even have to bargain, the farmers themselves kindly give you a discount on the desired product. There are not many people, so you can safely choose what you like and not rush anywhere.

Buyers note that, unfortunately, this market is less clean and well maintained inside than others.

A few tips:

  1. Take small bills with you. The flow of people is small, there may not be change.
  2. If you go around the main building on the left side, you will see a couple more tents with vegetables and fruits.
  3. It is better to get here by taxi. The nearest metro station “Druzhba” is a 40-minute walk away, a taxi from there will cost about 900-1,000 drams. There is no special parking, so finding a space with your car will be problematic. 

What are the prices on the market? *

Cucumbers (1 kg) – 400 AMD.

Tomatoes (1 kg) – 300 AMD

Sweet cherry (1 kg) – 2 300 drams.

Peaches (1 kg) – 600 AMD

*prices are indicated at the time of writing the article (08/22/22). They may change depending on season. 

Malatya

Address: st. Svachyan, 27/16
Working mode: 9:00-19:00 (except Mon)

No phone number or website.
Payment Methods: Cash only

Large indoor market, local "second-hand store,” where you can find clothes, shoes, accessories, household goods and much more at low prices. There are also fruits and vegetables, but they are not so easy to find. Once you get there (it’s better to do this by car), you will see a park with a fountain, then stalls with carpets, then there will be a parking lot and the entrance to the clothing market. On the opposite side there is a hangar in which food products are located. Juicy, fresh, beautiful and incredibly tasty.

A few tips:

  1. If you purposefully came to this market, it is better to immediately take large bags. First, you might like some cool vintage items or souvenirs. Secondly, it will be easier to carry everything to the house. Small bags can tear, especially in hot weather.
  2. Be sure to bargain.

What are the prices on the market? *

Cucumbers (1 kg) – 500 AMD.

Tomatoes (1 kg) – 400 AMD

Sweet cherry (1 kg) – 3000 AMD

Peaches (1 kg) – 700 AMD

*prices are indicated at the time of writing the article (08/22/22). They may change depending on season. 

Photo: Skolkocom.ru

Counters at home

On the main streets and courtyards of Yerevan you have 100% seen shops where local farmers sell vegetables, fruits, herbs, flowers, etc. And if in the center in the stalls they can deliberately inflate the price, knowing that people will buy it anyway, then in some tent in the courtyard of residential areas you will find fresh food at an adequate price. Don't be afraid to buy fruits and vegetables this way, as sometimes they turn out to be much tastier than in the supermarket. Again, the price can be negotiated directly with the seller.

A few tips:

  1. Trust, but verify. If, after buying vegetables or fruits in a tent near the house, some stomach problems began, it is better to spend more time and go to the markets that we wrote about above.
  2. You can ask for a discount as a regular customer.
  3. If you see lines or a large number of local shoppers, then this is a good sign. The place is trusted.

What else is important to know?

There is one more piece of advice. If you have free time and desire, learn a couple of Armenian words that you will need to communicate in the market. Thus, sellers may well mistake you for a local and sell the goods even cheaper. Here is some of them: 

Բարեւ ձեզ (Barev dzez) - Hello.

Question: (Vorkan arzhe ayn?) - How much does it cost?

Ինձ պետք է մեկ (1) կիլոգրամ (Indz petk e mek (1) kilogram) – I need one (1) kilogram.

Շնորհակալություն / Մերսի (Shnorakalutyun / Mercy) - Thank you.

Ցտեսություն (Tstesutyun) - Goodbye.

You might also find it useful guide to Yerevan markets or shopping centers and various stores from our catalog.

Author: Daria Kirichenko.

Favorites
It was interesting? Subscribe to newsletter:
What are you interested in?
Thanks for subscribing!
Life
Purchases
Business
Children
Animals
Housing
Beauty and care
culture
Medicine
Education
Society
Moving / Flight
Law and law
Work
Entertainment
Restaurants, bars, cafes
Sport
Transport
Tourism
Finance and banks
Please select at least 1 item
Article author
Article author
  • articles: 1
  • views : 1
Where to buy cheap fruits and vegetables in Armenia?
  • Sergey
    03.02.2023 в 09:47

    Very good prices! But, the most important thing is the taste of real fresh products in the markets of Yerevan! We city dwellers have already forgotten their taste.

  • Lena
    01.02.2023 в 07:23

    Childhood memories - with my grandmother early in the morning to the collective farm market. What was not there! Mountains of fresh fruits: peaches, apricots, grapes... But the most interesting place was where they sold all living creatures.

Add a comment
It is interesting

Где покупать дешёвые фрукты и овощи в Армении?

13

Где покупать дешёвые фрукты и овощи в Армении?

Дарья Кириченко
24.08.2022
0

Армения богата вкусными, сочными, а главное недорогими фруктами, ягодами и овощами. Летом прилавки становятся все красочнее и красивее, а ценник для гостей страны вовсе может показаться смешным. Но, стоит заметить, что даже несмотря на привлекательную цену в обычных супермаркетах, фрукты и овощи можно найти еще дешевле и сочнее. Главное – знать нужные места. Сегодня, исходя из личного опыта, мы поделимся с вами списком проверенных рынков.

 

Рынок ГУМ

 

Адрес: ул. Мовсеса Хоренаци, 35
Режим
работы: 8:00-19:00
Тел.: +374 10 578441
Сайта нет
Способы оплаты: наличные / иногда карта

Можно смело сказать, что это один из самых популярных рынков Еревана, где множество продавцов ежедневно выставляют на прилавки фрукты, овощи, зелень, сухофрукты, мясо, рыбу (свежевыловленную из аквариумов) и многое другое.

Советуем вам не останавливаться прямо у входа. Продавцы будут предлагать подойти к себе и продегустировать их орехи, ягоды, фрукты. Это все для привлечения внимания. Если вы пришли за фруктами, овощами и зеленью, то пройдите немного дальше. У некоторых продавцов есть терминал для оплаты картой, кто-то может предложить оплатить покупку переводом, но рекомендуем взять с собой наличные, так как такая опция есть не у всех. Рынок очень большой, древний, красивый, с прекрасными продавцами, которые готовы бесплатно угостить, а может даже и накормить вас.

 

Несколько советов:
1. Тут принято торговаться, не стесняйтесь.
2. Рассчитывайте время, ведь прогулка по рынку – это не быстрое дело. Придется пройтись, узнать цены и сравнить предложения разных продавцов.

  1. После 16:00 каждый день за крытым рынком открывается еще один – уличный. Туда приезжают разные фермеры и продают свежие овощи, фрукты, ягоды, зелень прямо со своих огородов. Он работает примерно до 20-21:00.

 

Какие цены на рынке? *

Огурцы (1 кг) – 500 драм.

Помидоры (1 кг) – 700 драм.

Черешня (1 кг) – 3000 драм.

Персики (1 кг) – 700 драм.

 

*цены указаны на момент написания статьи (22.08.22). Они могут меняться в зависимости от времени года.

Рынок Kayarani shuka

 

Адрес: пр-кт Тиграна Меца, 86 (рядом с железнодорожной станцией)
Режим работы: 8:00-20:00

Тел.: +374 10 572500
Сайт: https://www.facebook.com/Կայարանի-շուկա-Kayarani-shuka-783238788428153/

Способы оплаты: только наличные

 

Раньше по этому адресу располагался большой рынок, но на сегодняшний день остался только уголок с прилавками. Он находится в пяти минутах ходьбы от станции метро Давид Сасунский, справа от железнодорожной станции. Несмотря на маленькую площадь, качество продуктов здесь ничуть не хуже, чем в ГУМе. Товар выглядит очень хорошо, все свежее, домашнее. Чувствуется, что прямиком с грядки и без каких-либо добавок. Продавцы не буду завлекать вас к себе, но всегда с радостью ответят на интересующие вопросы. 

 

Несколько советов:

  1. Лучше и дешевле всего будет добраться на метро. Проезд стоит 100 драм, вам нужно будет выйти на станции “Давид Сасунский”, затем в переходе повернуть направо и выйти перед входом на вокзал. Есть парковочные места, в первой половине дня большая часть свободна. 
  2. Рассчитывайте на то, что выбор фруктов и овощей здесь небольшой.
  3. Рынок находится прямо на улице, поэтому дома тщательно помойте все, что купите.

 

Какие цены на рынке? *

Огурцы (1 кг) – 300 драм.

Помидоры (1 кг) – 250 драм.

Черешня (1 кг) – 2000 драм.

Персики (1 кг) – 500 драм.

 

*цены указаны на момент написания статьи (22.08.22). Они могут меняться в зависимости от 

времени года. 

Рынок Комитас 

 

Адрес: пр-кт Комитаса, 53

Режим работы: нигде нет официальной информации, но в среднем по городу рынки открыты с 8:00 до 18:00 (в сб и вс многие из них тоже работают, но могут закрыться ближе к 16:00).

Телефона и сайта нет
Способы оплаты: только наличные

 

Это тот самый  рынок, который окунет вас в атмосферу СССР. Большое здание, старая, аутентичная архитектура, приятный мягкий свет из окон и милые бабушки с сухофруктами. Схема такая же, как в ГУМе. Фрукты и овощи располагаются дальше, на свежем воздухе. Тут даже можно не торговаться, фермеры сами добродушно делают вам скидку на желаемый товар. Людей не много, так что можно спокойно выбирать то, что вам нравится и никуда не торопиться. 

 

Несколько советов:

  1. Возьмите с собой мелкие купюры. Поток людей небольшой, сдачи может не быть.
  2. Если обойдете основное здание с левой стороны, увидите еще пару палаток с овощами и фруктами.
  3. Сюда лучше добираться на такси. Ближайшее метро “Дружба” находится в 40 минутах ходьбы, такси от него обойдется примерно в 900-1 000 драм. Специальной парковки нет, так что найти место на своей машине будет проблематично. 

 

Какие цены на рынке? *

Огурцы (1 кг) – 400 драм.

Помидоры (1 кг) – 300 драм.

Черешня (1 кг) – 2 300 драм.

Персики (1 кг) – 600 драм.

 

*цены указаны на момент написания статьи (22.08.22). Они могут меняться в зависимости от 

времени года. 

Малатия

 

Адрес: ул. Свачян, 27/16
Режим работы: 9:00-19:00 (кроме пн)

Телефона и сайта нет
Способы оплаты: только наличные

 

Большой крытый рынок, местный “секонд-хенд”, в котором по низким ценам можно найти вещи, обувь, аксессуары, товары для дома и  еще много всего. Фрукты и овощи тоже есть, но их не так просто найти.  Как доедете ( лучше это делать на машине) увидите парк с фонтаном, потом ларьки с коврами, затем будет стоянка для машин и вход на вещевой рынок. На противоположной стороне находится ангар, в котором и располагаются продукты питания. Сочные, свежие, красивые и невероятно вкусные.

 

Несколько советов:

  1. Если вы целенаправленно приехали на этот рынок, лучше сразу возьмите большие сумки. Во-первых, вам может что-то понравиться из классных винтажных вещей или сувениров. Во-вторых, так будет легче донести все до дома. Маленькие пакеты могут порваться, тем более в жару.
  2. Обязательно торгуйтесь.

 

Какие цены на рынке? *

Огурцы (1 кг) – 500 драм.

Помидоры (1 кг) – 400 драм.

Черешня (1 кг) – 3000 драм.

Персики (1 кг) – 700 драм.

 

*цены указаны на момент написания статьи (22.08.22). Они могут меняться в зависимости от 

времени года. 

Автор фото: skolkocom.ru

Прилавки у дома

 

На больших улицах и во дворах Еревана вы 100% видели лавки, где местные фермеры продают овощи, фрукты, зелень, цветы и тд. И если в центре там могут специально завысить цену, зная, что люди и так купят, то в какой-нибудь палатке во дворе жилых районов вы найдете свежую еду за абсолютно адекватную цену. Не стоит бояться покупать фрукты и овощи таким образом, так как иногда они оказываются намного вкуснее, чем в супермаркете. Опять же, о цене можно договориться непосредственно с продавцом.

 

Несколько советов:

  1. Доверяйте, но проверяйте. Если после покупки овощей или фруктов в палатке у дома начались какие-то проблемы с желудком, лучше потратить больше времени и сходить на рынки, о которых мы писали выше.
  2. Можно попросить сделать скидку, как постоянному покупателю.
    3. Если вы видите очереди или большое количество местных покупателей, то это хороший знак. Месту доверяют.


Что еще важно знать?

 

Есть еще один совет. При наличии свободного времени и желании, выучите пару армянских слов, которые понадобятся, чтобы общаться на рынке. Тем самым продавцы вполне могут принять вас за местного и продать товар еще дешевле. Вот некоторые из них: 

 

Բարեւ Ձեզ (Barev Dzez) – здравствуйте.

Որքա՞ն արժե այն ? (Vork’a n arzhe ayn) – сколько это стоит?

Ինձ պետք է 1 կգ (Indz petk’ e 1 kg) – мне нужен 1 килограмм.

Շնորհակալություն (Shnorhakalut’yun) – спасибо.

ցտեսություն (ts’tesut’yun) – до свидания.


Автор: Дарья Кириченко.

Дарья Кириченко
Где покупать дешёвые фрукты и овощи в Армении?
  • Пока нет коментариев.
  • Добавить комментарий
    Это интересно